top of page

'Too Close to Call' (Romancing the Clarksons #3.5) - Tessa Bailey


 



 


All-American wide receiver Kyler Tate’s life is about to change. A fairytale college career skyrocketed him to the NFL draft. Adoration and opportunity are thrown in his direction wherever he goes, thanks to being chosen in the first round by the Los Angeles Rage.


None of the accolades mean anything, though, without his high school sweetheart, Bree Justice, by his side. Four years ago, she walked away from Kyler, choosing a quiet life over the flash and notoriety his career would someday bring.


Now he’s back in their Indiana hometown, refusing to leave for Los Angeles without her. Demanding she give their life together a shot. Her heart never stopped bleeding for the love of her life, but Bree’s decision was final. Too bad their wild attraction has only been amplified by their separation, and Kyler won’t quit until Bree is wearing his ring.



 

“Depends on how good of friends we want to be.” One hand lifted to squeeze her hip, slow and possessive, that low voice directly against her ear. “Me, Bree? All due respect, I want to be the kind of friend who takes your panties home in his pocket. The kind of friend who sucks your lower lip until your fingers start fumbling with his zipper. You need a friend like that?” His labored breath matched hers. “Because trust me when I say I’ll be your best fucking friend.”

&


She clung to his neck. “Where were you?”
“Walking through the cornfields. Deciding on my next move with you.”
Her heart tripled its tempo. “What did you come up with?“
“I got as far as another dance off…” They both stopped to laugh, Kyler rubbing their noses together. “But I decided to go for broke and propose instead.” His hand went to his pocket, coming back with a simple antique engagement ring between two fingers. His expression turned serious, even in the wake of Bree’s gulping cry of his name. “I was going to refuse to take no for an answer. In case you’re wondering, that part hasn’t changed.”
“Ask me,” Bree murmured, framing his face with her hands.
“Be my wife, supergirl. Let me love you from across the yard.”

 

Comments


TAGS LIST

bottom of page