top of page

'Kiss of Death' series - L.P. Lovell


 

'Kill Me' (#1)


&


Kiss Me (#2)


 




 



They call me the kiss of death; a bratva assassin, feared by even the most powerful of men.


Only a mad man would blackmail me…


And Nero Verdi certainly has a reputation for madness. Ruthlessly ambitious, the Italian kingpin is akin to the devil himself.


But even the devil can't escape death. Unless she falls in love with him…


I have many names, but he calls me his.




 

cw: nongraphic depictions of rape (not MCs) and past rape (of FMC by third party), sex trafficking

 

I want to fight her and tame her only for her to break free and do it all over again.
I want to strangle her while I fuck her and then fall asleep, never quite knowing whether I’ll open my eyes again, or whether she’ll put a bullet between them instead.
She’s a challenge, the unattainable killer.
I could list every reason why this is bad, but right now not a single one comes to mind.
She reels me in like a magnet, and I fight it, but eventually…

&


“You don’t let Tommy touch you.” The low rumble of his chest vibrates against me. I shove at him but he doesn’t budge.
“You’re seriously jealous? You realize that’s totally irrational?”
He says nothing, and I shake my head. “Fuck you, Nero.”
“Gladly, but I don’t share, Morte.”
“I’m not yours to share.”
“You don’t think so? Too bad.”

&


“Is she really worth getting killed for?”
Is she? I don’t know. All I know is I want her back. I’m not ready for my vicious little butterfly to meet her end. If anyone is going to kill her, it will be me.
“We’ll see, won’t we?”

&


Of all the people hunting me, Nero Verdi may well be the one I fear the most.
You can kill enemies. You can even fight yourself, but you can’t fight fate.
You can’t kill the only person you feel anything for, because as ruthless and violent as Nero is, we’re two halves of the whole, hopelessly drawn to one another’s darkness.
I long for the rush only his brand of fear can possibly ignite.
He once told me that I can run, that I can put half the world between us, but I will always be his.

&


“She got away?”
“They haven’t caught her if that’s what you mean. She killed eighteen of his men.”
I have to laugh.
“We just lost track of her, and she’s probably become even more wanted. Why the hell are you smiling?”
We did lose her, for now, but I will find her.
“Because she’s fucking perfect.”

&


I want her brutality and hate, her pain and weakness, but most of all I want her heart, her body, her soul.
I want everything that she has to give, and I always will.
Time and distance make no difference. She can’t outrun me.
We are perfect in a way that only two people as volatile as us can be.

&


“Morte. If anyone pointed a weapon at you, I’d be forced to remove both his arms from his body.”
A fluttering sensation erupts in my chest, even though I absolutely do not need his protection. Still…
“You say the sweetest things.”

&


“Does love trump power?” My voice is barely above a whisper. His lips curl into a smile.
“Ah, Morte, when it comes to you, love bolsters power.”

&


“What will it be, Morte? Kill me or kiss me?”
“Both,” she whispers, that single word so tormented. “Always both.”

 

Comments


TAGS LIST

bottom of page