top of page

'The Midnight Arrow' (in: 'The Lovely Dark: A Monster Romance Anthology') - Zoey Draven


 


 


Marion enjoys her quiet life in the shadowed woods, selling her healing potions in the village by day and tending to her otherworldly garden by night.


But then she saves a devilishly handsome Kylorr, with his powerful wings and sharp fangs, shot through with an arrow and bleeding to death one moonlit night.


Her mysterious Kylorr awakens new desires—but she fears he might be hiding dark secrets of his own…



 

“Stop looking at me,” I replied. “Stop smiling.”
He grinned in response. “I like looking at you,” he told me. “Why does it bother you?”
“Because… because…” I trailed off, uncertain how to respond. It sounded ridiculous, even to my own ears. But how could I tell him that every time he looked at me, I felt consumed? How could I tell him that he made me nervous, shy, and elated all at once?
“Because you’re not used to it,” he murmured. “You live out here, alone. My beautiful little witch in the woods. You need to be appreciated. You need to be touched. I think you need to be loved.”
I stopped mixing the soapy water in the trunk to look at him in surprise. He smirked.
“You need a lover, Marion.”
“Are you volunteering for the job?” I asked, flustered but quirking a brow with more confidence than I felt.
I’d meant it as a tease, but Lorik said, “Yes.” The word was soft in its seriousness.

&


“One chance,” he told me, the words drenched in warning though they fell from his lips like a purr. “One chance to leave, little witch. Because if I have you tonight, there’s no going back.”

&


...he murmured against my lips, “I’m a little in love with you, Marion.”
The words made my chest squeeze, and I couldn’t help the wobbly smile that crossed my face.
“I’m a little in love with you too, Lorik Ravael,” I whispered back.

 

Comments


TAGS LIST

bottom of page