top of page

'Kingdom of Lies' series - Stacia Stark


 

A Court This Cruel & Lovely (#1)


For years, when I fell asleep, I dreamed of a man with blazing green eyes and a cruel smile.

The day I meet him, the ruthless mercenary leaves me for dead.


Just hours after humans are born, the gods take what little power we have. In return, they protect our borders from the vicious, merciless fae.


The humans who manage to keep their power are known as the corrupt.

And they are burned.


When my forbidden power is discovered, I’m forced to flee my tiny village and the life I adore.


To survive, I make a desperate bargain with the mercenary who abandoned me at my weakest.


Our deal is simple: I’ll help him and his mysterious friends sneak into the city. And he’ll help me learn to wield the strange, dark power I’ve always kept hidden. The power that may just be the key to my survival.


But the ruthless mercenary is hiding secrets of his own. Secrets that threaten the safety of everyone I love. Secrets that could tear this kingdom—and perhaps even this world—apart.



 

"The entire castle is gossiping about our so-called relationship.”
I rolled my eyes. “The queen’s lady and the handsome prince. Of course they’re gossiping.”
His gaze returned to my face. “You enjoy the way I look?” His eyes glittered, and for a wild moment, I wanted to pluck them from his face.
My cheeks burned. “Yes, yes, your face is very symmetrical. An incredible achievement.”
He stared at me. Then he threw back his head with a laugh. The sound was the best thing I’d ever heard.


 

A Kingdom This Cursed and Empty (#2)




 

“I’ve gone my whole life feeling like I’m holding my breath. Like my lungs are burning. Like I’m desperately fighting for each gasp of air. But when you’re around, I can…breathe. And I’m furious at you, because when that ends…when we’re forced apart, I don’t know how I’ll take a full breath without you.”

&


“This is never going to work. You and I. We’re doomed. You know that.”
He sighed, and I closed my eyes, basking in the feel of his breath against my neck.
“I know.” He slowly drew back. “But that doesn’t mean I won’t wish for you with every fucking breath for the rest of my life.”

&


“You can raise all the walls between us that you like. I’ll knock them down one by one. In the end, it will be us, wildcat.”

 

Comments


TAGS LIST

bottom of page